276°
Posted 20 hours ago

How to Fake it in Hollywood: A sensational fake-dating romance

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

With a life-changing role on the line, she’s finally desperate enough to agree to her publicist’s scheme… faking a love affair with a disgraced Hollywood heartthrob who needs the publicity, but for very different reasons. Grey Brooks is on a mission to keep her career afloat now that the end of her long-running teen soap has her (unsuccessfully) pounding the pavement again. Over the years Grey had known her, Renata had kicked the Lights, but still had problems with volume control. It’s a fake relationship trope which I love but there’s not enough character development and growth here for me.

Trigger warnings for this book include: addiction, alcoholism, drug use, depression, death of a friend (off-page), and grief. Grey steeled herself for more small talk, but he just thanked her and quickly crossed to his friend waiting by the door. Ethan and Grey loved each other inspite of the struggles they navigated or maybe because of them, they were more than happy to support each other and be proud of each other's accomplishments. All that said, I really did like the ending (probably because he finally got a therapist *cough cough* *wink wink nudge nudge* but it was very heartwarming. Overall: A stunning debut, with a writing style I fancy, a skillfully crafted plot, impressive character growth and a diverse selection of secondary characters.How To Fake It In Hollywood is equal parts steamy, messy, and emotional, with relatable characters that are easy to root for! Before I go into how this book made me sad and heartbroken, I’m just going to mention real quick that this book delivers in the romance aspect. Told in chapters alternating between her and him, this tale jumps right into the action in the first few pages when the two are recruited for a PR stunt by their mutual publicist. Between his high-profile divorce, struggles with drinking, and grief over the death of his longtime creative partner and best friend, Ethan has slowly let himself fade into the background. Grey has been acting since she was a child, so we also got to hear about the not-so-good side that comes with fame.

But as soon as I started listening, I quickly realized that I recognized Andrew Eiden's voice - he's Teddy Hamilton. When their shared pubilist suggests a PR relationship to help both their careers, they reluctantly agree. Still, it was possible that Lucy was the stylish woman sipping an Americano and flipping through Variety over by the ficus.and discover that their feelings might be more than a PR stunt in this sexy chemistry-filled debut for fans of Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners. If you think you can handle the subject matter, I HIGHLY recommend checking this out and I personally cannot wait to read whatever else Ava Wilder puts out next.

Wrapping a simple bow on the story would’ve been an incredible disservice; by the end, I really enjoyed seeing the entire arc that these two characters went on, and I loved the book as much at the end as I had at the beginning. But of course, as all fake-dating stories go, they develop real feelings, and helping each other extends beyond their careers: resolving Grey’s insecurities, and Ethan’s grief and alcohol problems.I felt for her going from a relatively anonymous existence to one where her every move was suddenly splashed everywhere online. Renata, on the other hand, was loud and glamorous in an eighties Business Bitch sort of way, with a cloud of teased red hair surrounded by an even larger cloud of Marlboro Light smoke. She was recently released from her tv series, her boyfriend broke up with her and she’s trying to find roles that are more “mature”. The runtime is 10-11 hours, so longer than a work day, but not necessarily long enough to run into a second reading day.

I am not an expert about addictions, not even close, but I think it should have been addressed way earlier, and in a different way.

Grey also has her fair share of troubles, the leaking of photos of the two of them throws her into depression, her complicated feelings about her mother and growing up being a co-breadwinner at a young age are hard for her to deal with. Ethan’s addictions completely take over his sanity in a heartbreaking way, making this book fit into that 0. For some reason, their relationship, despite the circumstances, felt like home, like a summer evening, a stormy afternoon or a night out at the beach with waves clashing peacefully. The 103 third parties who use cookies on this service do so for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalized ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products. I read this as part of a spree of romances with movie stars as one or both of the protagonists and have distinctly mixed feelings on it.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment